Metro   City

Big Ten Women’s Rowing Championships

Thank You! Your rating has been saved.

The Big Ten Women's Rowing Championships will be returning to Eagle Creek Park on Sunday, May 19, 2013. Racing to begin at 9am. This is a free event, so come cheer on some of the top collegiate teams in the country! There is a park entry fee per vehicle of $5 (Marion County residents) or $6 (out of county).

2011 marked the first year that the Big Ten Women's Rowing Championships were held at a neutral site. Indianapolis' seven-lane, world-class rowing course accomodates the finals-only format that the Big Ten Conference prefers. Prior to 2011, the Championships rotated thru the member campuses - with some schools having 4 lane courses, and some schools unable to accomodate a full 2,000 meter course (which are perfectly acceptable venues for general season races). In an effort to standardize the championship racing, the Big Ten Conference has chosen to move the regatta to Indianapolis for 2011, 2012, and 2013.

The Big Ten Women's Rowing Championships comprises of four events which are weighted and scored for the Team Trophy. While the team with the largest number of points at the end of the regatta wins the team point trophy, the winning boat in each event wins a medal and the rowers in the lineup are considered Big Ten Champions in their event.

The Indianapolis Rowing Center is proud to host the Big Ten Women's Rowing Championships for a second year in a row. Eagle Creek Park will serve as the venue for the 2011, 2012, and 2013 Big Ten Women's Rowing Championships. Seven teams will be competing - University of Indiana, University of Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, University of Wisconsin, University of Minnesota, and University of Iowa.

In addition to the location, other changes have been made for future championships. The 2011-13 events will be held on the Sunday that falls two weekends prior to the NCAA Championships. The 2012 Big Ten Championships will be held May 13. The format of the event will be altered to a seven-land finals-only regatta.

Since the inception of the Big Ten Rowing Championships in 2000, the event has been held at a pre-determined location on a Big Ten Campus. The 2011 event at the Indianapolis Rowing Center marked the Big Ten's first-ever neutral-site rowing championships.

The Big Ten Rowing Championships have been held in the state of Indiana on one previous occasion, in 2005, when they were competed in Bloomington.

About The Indianapolis Rowing Center (IRC)

The Indianapolis Rowing Center (IRC) is a non-profit organization, established in 1982, to develop youth and adults of all social and economic backgrounds through the sport of rowing by providing experienced and knowledgeable instruction, a variety of skill-enhancing programs, and world-class facilities. IRC is located in Eagle Creek Park and has hosted a number of national and international events, including NCAA Rowing Championships, USRowing Club and Elite National Regattas and the World Rowing Championships.

Explore Related Categories


Be the first to add a review for this item.

Please write a review for this item

Send a Message