Metro   City


Thank You! Your rating has been saved.

We are raising the roof on this season-closing concert, and the title, "Sonic Boom!" says it all. The evening begins with one of the largest scale concert marches ever written. Composed in 1937 by English composer Sir William Walton for the coronation of King George the VI, Crown Imperial - Coronation March is a regal work celebrating the glories of a great empire.

Next on the program is music from Ravel's Daphnis and Chloe, one of the greatest French masterworks ever composed. This work is a tour de force for large symphony orchestra. The second half of the concert includes Aaron Copland's beautiful and Jazz inspired Concerto for Clarinet and features UAFS faculty clarinetist David Carter.

The concert season comes to close with Respighi's monumental and exhilarating Pines of Rome. This concert is a "not to be missed event" featuring the very vest of symphonic music!

The Fort Smith Symphony teams up with Mercy Fort Smith and the Alzheimer's Foundation to focus on music, wellness and Alzheimer's Awareness.


  • Walton: Crown Imperial - Coronation March
  • Ravel: Daphnis and Chloe, Suite No. 2
  • UAFS University Chorale
  • intermission
  • Copland: Clarinet Concerto
  • David Carter, Clarinet
  • Respighi: The Pines of Rome

Explore Related Categories


Be the first to add a review for this item.

Please write a review for this item

Send a Message